RSS

The People With No Voices

04 May

It’s becoming harder and harder to ignore the world and the things that go on in it. We live in the most beautiful country in the world with the most freedoms and yet, the illusion that we live in the most beautiful country in the world with the most freedoms is starting to shatter.

There are people who can scream at the top of their lungs until they are hoarse and no one will listen. These are the people with no voices.

These are the children left to die in the streets that no one pities because no one cares to see their suffering. These are the people in prison who are innocent of their crimes or who didn’t deserve as much time as they’ve gotten for their mistakes. These are the innovators and the forward thinkers of society who cannot and will never speak what they’ve dreamed and imagined and know to be true all because they know too well the consequences of having a voice in a world where one is to be voiceless.

And I too, am supposed to be without a voice.

There is a Mighty God who will judge the world come the end of all things. But for the oppressed and the broken and the contrite and the suffering, from where is hope in times of need? The Saviour is come, but we cannot see Him. The Saviour is still here, but the world continues to spin in all its glory without acknowledging Him. And while we still live in the world, do we obey its ways and follow in its deceits and lies and corruption? No. The Saviour has a voice and He spoke and His words caused many to anger whose wickedness were exposed to the light.

Having a voice against the world means many things. It means that you will be hated. It means that you will be persecuted. It means that you will not belong in a society who values the darkness more and calls that which is evil good.

We’ve all done bad things. We’re all wrong in our ways. I am more wrong than most–worse than any other. It would seem fitting that with such a high count of wickedness, I’d fit perfectly into this world with all its greed and all its power and all its deceitfulness and all its lies and all its murders. I haven’t figured out yet why I’m not right there in the midst of the world, living it up and not giving a care to the person next to me on whether they will live or they will die and in what state would they leave this world. I’ve come to realize that I can’t save the world, but I can speak up and have a voice of truth that may not be convenient or conventional or conforming. And it is in a voice that the world fears because when many voices gather and speak against, the world loses its hold on the precious souls of mankind.

I’ve learned that I’m about the worse person ever to start evangelizing. My brain insists on shutting down whenever I’m writing or studying or learning or testing so I’m not bright by any standard. I trust too easily and I’m not paranoid enough which makes me pretty much perfect prey for all the wolves. I have no qualifications for anything worthy of the world and the odds are highly stacked against me. I’ve also spent the last five years in a federal prison. And I am currently under an order of deportation in the hopes of the federal government that Thailand will one day acknowledge children born in refugee camps as citizens. There are 7 billion people–give or take–that are far more apt for the task of having a voice than me.

But the number of people with no voices just grows and grows, each one waiting for someone else to do what they cannot do on their own: speak.

I do not mind becoming one of them, to fade into the background, to be silent and ride out this wave we call life. I do not mind becoming ignorant and pretending that injustice doesn’t exist. I do not mind living the life of a wife and a mother, that which I was meant to live and that which is all the meaning of life there is to be found. I do not mind any of these things, but nothing changes. And no one steps up to speak.

How do I save a world of people and free them from the chains bound tightly upon them by the world and by a society that values perversion instead of truth? And how can I even begin to think of saving anyone when I’m the most likely one to be condemned to damnation? What irony or sense is that? She can save others, but she cannot save herself.

I’ve heard that spoken once about a Man whom at the time His death drew near, the world mocked His mortality, not understanding His immortality–that which they all sought desperately for, but died simply and was laid to rest in the ground with no other hope of arising again. Yet He died and He rose and He conquered death and the grave. And the world understood Him not and those who were there all the more hardened their hearts and believed Him not, following in their own ways and their own conceits.

The people with no voices need to speak. The people who have stuffed their ears so full of wax to not hear, need to listen. The people with no mind of their own but buzzes about like bees in a hive all working together for one queen, for the queen of heaven, the god of this world, need to think. The people with hearts of stone, lumpy black stone harder than obsidian, need to understand. The people who have eyes but do not use them to see truth, need to start watching and pay attention.

The time is now. Repent. Speak up. Listen. Think for yourself. Understand. Watch and see the truth.

Why all the fear? The worse thing that anyone can do to me is to kill me. There is nothing more that can be done. For what pain does a spirit feel? Or what shame for a body that is no longer alive? Or what dishonor for a name in seven billion still alive and many billions more already gone ahead?

Be not afraid of the world or those in it. For greater is He that is in you than he that is in the world.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 4, 2014 in Diary

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
