RSS

The Story Unknown

08 Jun

“I was birthed on a planet where the flowers bloomed blue from the magic running through my world. You call it vos.

There, we had a kingdom and a king who ruled peacefully. There, I was a princess, beloved by all and engaged to be married to a prince of a neighboring kingdom. We, who are royalty, control the vos.

And on the eve before my wedding day, we were attacked by beings from another world. They destroyed my home, enslaved my people, and drained all the vos from that world for themselves.

My father’s most trusted advisor and high magician, the strongest of all the magicians in our world, opened up a portal for me and my fiancee to escape. As long as I was alive, there was hope for my people in that one day, I will inherit the power of my people and I will return to save them from this race of armor wearing warmongers. But fate was not so kind. And what happened next hurled me into lifetimes after lifetimes on various planets and realms.” – Xao

“Our magic wasn’t a virus. It was a living thing, one that embodied us and worked with us through us. It is us. And because it is us, it moves automatically to protect us, to help us, and to defend us without even us thinking.

We had many and much magic. We were shapeshifters. We preferred the blue bats or the blue wolves. But we were also powerful enough to control time and to circumvent time. To transverse time.

I fell in a pool of water when I left that world. I fell in this one: earth. And I was told to go to an apartment and wait for my beloved to come find me. I stayed in a room by myself for a long time, fearing that people would see past the magic because we were not exactly human. We had ears like elves and very long arms that reached down to our knees. We were a bit odd, but we were what we were and being in a different world didn’t help my feeling insecure that my fiancee never made it.

Then one day, I saw him. He was with a woman whom I bumped into once who lived in the same hall of my apartment. Her name was Camelia and he was buying her a wedding ring. It had been months since I’ve seen him and although human, I knew it was him. We from the same place, knows those from the same place. And I followed them to the ring shop. And at the end, when he kissed her and slipped the ring on her finger in the shop, my heart broke in two and I left, silently as I had came and silently because he didn’t even know I was there.

In my despair, I vowed to never come back to this world. I vowed to never come back to earth. And in a scream of heartbreak and longing and loss and despair, I transversed worlds and took my own memory of all that happened here. I had no desire to see it and no desire to remember any of it.

I remember ocean. I fell in the ocean. And I wanted the ocean to drown me, to take away the sadness and the pain in my heart that I no longer knew was the source, but the bleeding ache was still there. Yet, someone found me and while I was not on earth, I was in a similar world, one with people, but also one with its own magic. I didn’t even remember my own name. And I lived longer than everyone. I watched generations die and pass on and I was there still, watching the ocean and wondering where I came from and who I was.

Then one night, the ocean came alive. The ocean glowed and glittered with flashing lights, beautiful lights of greens and pinks and reds and blues and yellows. From out of the depths rose creatures, some familiar, others not. In their wake, whatever they touched, they left behind a sort of clear slime. That slime devoured everything and withered the grass and the world before my very eyes. I was afraid and I ran into the woods and climbed the highest trees and hid from the terror of the deep.

The village was plundered and destroyed. Fire was set to burn the creatures back. The earth shook and trembled with their great fierceness. And I was a coward. I had no memory of having magic or of remembering that I possessed great magic. And in the end, destruction swept throughout the city. But before dawn, the creatures slithered and crawled and made their way back to their ocean depths.

I woke with the sun shining in my face and seeing the damage, I cried for my loss. I had lived in that town my whole life and now, it was gone. A piece of my heart felt empty and the hole that was there only grew bigger. With no more tears left to shed, I closed my eyes and tried to enjoy the last of the sunshine before I drowned myself into the ocean that birthed me so I could go where the rest of the people went.

The sun was short lived as a shadow blocked my light. In my surprise, there was a man in a white suit and a hat, dressed oddly and impeccably and staring at me. I must’ve been a mess with matted hair covered in goo and I must’ve looked horrid because he frowned at me. He touched the goo in my hair and quickly wiped it off his fingers with a handkerchief, throwing the napkin on the ground where it caught fire and he stamped it out with his foot. He looked at it oddly.

“My name is Charly,” he said. “Do you speak?”

I looked at him dumbfounded.

“Do you know how to speak?” He paused for a moment. I didn’t understand anything he was saying. He was speaking the tongue of the people in the city, the people that were now long gone.

“Let’s try this again,” he muttered. “My name is Charly. Can you speak?”

“I understand you,” I replied. He now spoke the earth language that I had forgotten I knew of.

He smiled and held out a hand to me. “Come,” he said. “I will take you with me and you will be mine. You will be safe from all harm and you will have all things. I am Charly and I will now look after you.”

“Charly,” I repeated his name. He was beautiful and pleasing to the eyes, but the hole in my heart was too wide to hold love for any other. I didn’t know that it once held love before I was betrayed.

“Yes, Charly. Now come along. There is somewhere we have to go and someone I’d like you to meet.” He bent down and helped me up, not even aware that I was dirtying his nice white suit. He only smiled and talked to me and took me in his arms and hugged me tight. Charly. And I was his now. He was going to take care of me. It’s what he said.

Charly took me and cleaned me up and we rested in an inn in the marketplace. He fed me and clothed me and he was indeed very nice to me and always so respectful.

I learned that Charly was not of that world, but he was a traveler, He could slip through worlds and we were going to meet another, his only and best friend, Demonico–another who could slip through worlds and open gateways. These were all things I had forgotten and all things I didn’t remember. But, being with them, living with them, loving them, were some of the best years of my life.

And then we settled in the Otherworld–a place neither here nor there, but a place innocent and untouched by the cruelty and horrors of other worlds and the creatures there. It was a safe haven for all who entered its borders.

My story does not stop there, but I must for this is too long for you to read. I shall wait eagerly for your reply.” – Xao

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 8, 2014 in Diary, Ongoing Story Progression

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
