RSS

Dreaming Dreams About Vampires and Other Things

25 Jun

I suppose this is what I get for not working on my writing. Is dreaming about vampires a hint for continuing my vampire series? I have no idea, but the thought of dreaming is interesting for in a dream, it’s a bit of a mix of real life and movies and the supernatural.

A dream is the perfect alternate reality for in dreams, we are much like in real life, except it all ends suddenly and we’re awakened. It reminds me of that short quote that says:

Once upon a time, I dreamt I was a butterfly, fluttering hither and thither, to all intents and purposes a butterfly. I was conscious only of my happiness as a butterfly, unaware that I was myself. Soon I awaked, and there I was, veritably myself again. Now I do not know whether I was then a man dreaming I was a butterfly, or whether I am now a butterfly, dreaming I am a man.

In a dream, anything can happen. Yet, the dreamer most undoubtedly cannot distinguish between the laws of reality in a dream. A person or a setting in a dream can change before the dreamer’s eyes and in the dream, the dreamer will not realize that that change defies the very nature of real life and existence. In a dream, such extreme changes can seem ordinary and normal to the dreamer. Most often, the dreamer won’t even realize the changes that occurred.

It’s been a while since I’ve been keeping up with my dreams or taking any serious interest in them. If I’m not writing, I might as well be doing something productive. I was supposed to have started a dream testing group thing, but for some reason, I just never got my info packets so, I’m not in the dream group. I need to do some dream working.

Last night was interesting. I managed to stick to one dream, prolonging it or rather, much like a television series, continued going through the episodes which, unless it has happened this way before since all my dreams are recurring, I’ve managed to actually stick close to a subject for the night which is pretty damn near impossible. It’s very true that I can’t change much about my dreams. I’ve tried. And I can’t change the order in which I dream unless I remember the dreams. When my dreams are remembered, they’re skipped in the queue. It’s odd, but that’s how my dreams work.

So, here was the basis of my dream, from which I’ve woken up several times during the course of the night. I normally can’t go back to a halfway decent dream where I’m not dying or being tortured so this was pretty cool.

There’s some vampire prince and I’m at this house with not only him, but a bunch of girls and at least one other guy. Actually, I thought everyone was just normal. They all looked normal. The guy was…tall, dark, and handsome. Haha! It’s so funny because that describes a lot of the men from romance novels.

He was a pretty decent guy. Gave me some odd things/gifts that I paid no attention to. One was a pen with like…his stamp/signature/sigil/something on it. I didn’t pay any attention to the importance of it so I stuck it in a cup with lots of other odds and ends and pens. Everything was just odd if I think about it now. He was interested and I guess that was his way of showing that he was interested.

There was this one part where four of us were sitting on a couch and he was at one end and I was at the other. He had some girl he was talking to and being friendly with–a sister or a cousin, but she was related by blood (and later explained the weird gifts to me as his way of making me a princess…?). There was some guy beside me who had his arm around my shoulder and I had my arm between us to keep him at a distance because I knew how upset the other guy was going to get if he saw and misunderstood. And I was right. The vampire prince (who was totally shirtless by the way), took the guy by the shoulder and almost threw him across the room, but when he saw me pushing the guy away, he calmed down and relaxed some.

I didn’t know the vampire prince was a vampire prince until I was in a bedroom, just standing at the doorway talking to two girls and the vampire king came in and I must’ve been the only human because he looked at me and wanted to rip my arm open. I stared at him and said the baddest thing I’ve ever said in a dream. I said, “You touch me and try and drink my blood and I will burn you from the inside out.

Haha!

I must’ve gotten that from my vampire stories. But in the dream, since all my dreams were recurring dreams and I spent a great chunk of my dream life trying to escape each dream, I’ve encountered pretty much all the possible ways that things can change within a single dream. And in this one, I had a flashback memory of him attacking me and I burned him with fire from the inside out. So I was brave because I knew I could do it since I had done it before.

The vampire king actually didn’t attack me though. It also had something to do with my supernatural admirer. He wouldn’t have been too happy if I got hurt. Having a friend, any kind of friend in my dreams is worth more than anything. My dreams are not happy dreams. I’m lucky if they’re not trying their best to torture and kill me.

Dreams to me, are very interesting. They’re interesting because I’m super sheltered in my dreams and everyone in my dreamworld, even those things that hurt and harm and torture and kill me–aren’t even harmful in the least bit. My dreams hurt like a bitch, but that’s besides the point. The point is that everyone in my dreamworld has a role to play. It’s so weird. And I do dream of people I know in real life–like my parents and my family for example–but I never dream about the real person. There are people in my dream whose entire job is to imitate people I know in real life and to pretend to be them. It’s so weird to explain to someone else so they’d understand.

I have awesome best friends in my dreams whose names I don’t remember in the dream or upon waking, but I know we’ve been best friends for forever. It’s so weird to think about dreams because my dreams are indeed like the scariest cool alternate universe I’ve ever known.

There’s this guy that’s my best friend. He resembles no one I know in real life and he only exists in my dreams, but he only exists in a specific type of dream–the ones where I attend a specific school that’s kind of Japanese-esque with the bamboo window sliding doors and such.

Particular settings and particular dreams have particular people that kind of belongs in that set. It’s hard to explain. Each environmental set has a certain number of “people” or “things” or “others” populating it and they don’t cross over from one set (like a specific school for example) over to a different set (my childhood home for another example). It’s like many contained worlds within this great big whole. It’s all kind of cool and interesting.

I mostly avoid bathrooms no matter what type of dream setting I’m in. The bathrooms almost always has some kind of weird spirit/ghost problem going on. Invisible things that literally numbs my entire body with that pins and needles feeling when your limbs are asleep. It’s an odd sensation and no matter how many times I try to get used to the feeling within a dream, I often get scared and start to panic. Another way to describe that sensation is like being gnawed on by millions of invisible rats. It’s not a good feeling.

And I’m always safer outside for whatever reason because inside houses and buildings can be scary due to lights flickering out and not coming back on, lack of sight due to the darkness, and terrible evil things lurking in darkness. Because of the extent of work I do in my dreams, I often get flashbacks of the many ways I’ve tried to change a dream. If I’m about to walk into a dangerous part of town or woods, I get many flashbacks of the different ways that the dream happened the last time that I dreamed that same dream. It’s an odd, but useful method since I often don’t want to run into a pack of werewolves, get hunted by witches, have to battle vampires and dinosaurs or any number of things like flying sharks. Yes, sharks that swim in air. It’s still scary because they have huge teeth!

I am also always safer to stick to someone who likes me. Or someone I know in some way. Or someone who pretends to be one of my family members. I learned to never let anything know that I know that they’re not really my family or my friends. Things get dangerous quickly if things in my dreams are aware that I’m aware of their charade.

The one thing I love the most about my dreams is the night time sky. Whenever it’s night and I’m not being chased or scared out of my mind, I can look up at the sky and it’s like my eyes become the Hubble telescope. I see the stars in all its beautiful colors and glows and yes, I even see alien ships and planets and it’s the coolest thing ever! Normally, I’m an idiot. So even though I am fully aware of myself dreaming, I’m still snapping pictures, hoping that I can somehow transfer the images over to being manifest in the real world. Lol.

The sky can be interesting during the day too. Sometimes, there are planets floating in the sky–too far off for me to touch, but magnified somehow so I can see them. It’s the coolest science fiction setting ever.

Running is one of the things I love most about my dreams. Running and jumping. It sounds crazy, but, I can run really fast and leap over things and jump high enough to grab on to the roof of ten-story buildings and such. It’s the most amazing rush! And unfortunately, it only happens if I’m not being chased. If I have a need to run and get away, a turtle will pass me by within a minute’s time. I am that slow when it comes to trying to out run zombies or vampires or ghosties or any type of such creatures/things/people who want to hurt me.

Werewolves vary a lot in my dreams. They all don’t look like Taylor Lautner (Jacob) from Twilight. Lol. One subspecies of them are reddish brown, super stout and short, and they speak in growled voices with mouths full of sharp teeth. They have thick snouts that aren’t wolf like in any way. It looks more like Alf’s nose from that tv show, ALF. They have very short tails which is more like a vestige of the spine. They walk on all fours with short arms and legs and curved spines. They kind of do a weird bumpy jumping walk instead of walking. They have fur covered ears that are over-sized and pointed. The most important character about them is that they’re bound to vampires (a specific type, I’m sure) and they are servants to those vampires. These werewolves cannot change into a human shape. They cannot change shape at all.

Another type of werewolves in my dreams are strictly males. They’re the “Taylor Lautner” werewolves. They’re totally smoking hot and all over the age of 18. Haha!

There’s a subspecies of werewolves that are silver/grey and they’re these huge creatures that stand eight to ten feet tall with humanoid looking bodies, but they’re all wolf on super muscular legs.

There are many subspecies of werewolves that I dream about. I usually avoid them. I usually avoid everything and everyone in my dreams and for good reason: they’re dangerous!

There are also many types of vampires. Actually, none of the vampires that I have in the Turning vampire series is from my dreams (I’m glad for the most part, because there’s crazy vampires like the Streigos which resemble gargoyles and there’s the Faustians which are rotting corpses and such).

One such vampire species, the kind that controls the reddish stout werewolves, are also shapeshifters. They turn into the ugliest bald cats, all wrinkly and gross. They also possess magic. So pretty much, they’re sorcerers that are vampires. It’s weird.

Another vampire species are those that have these super large hooked noses and bald heads with greatly pointed ears. These dress pretty plain and try not to draw attention to themselves although they feed on blood and can massacre without feelings.

I’m not sure if any species of vampires in my dreams fly. I fly…by jumping. Lol. I’ll have to think about it.

I just remembered something else I love about my dreams! The creatures! The wildlife is amazing! Despite the fact that they all want to kill me for whatever reason, the animals in my dreams are ridiculously awesome. I wish I was a better artist so I can draw them perfectly because they’re wicked cool!

There are these huge stork like birds that stand as tall as a human with black bodies and their feathers are more like hairs and they have white tipped wings and these thick beaks that are hard as a rock. It’s a bit difficult to stand there and stare at how incredible everything looks when everything is trying to kill me. Lol.

Or these wild dogs that are a mix of jackals and hyenas and wolves with feline looking heads and short snouts and huge bodies! They’ve got like tufts of hair that make them seem to sport mohawks while their dark bodies have white/tan spots on the bottom half of their legs. Of course, they all make me run inside the haunted, creepy houses that I tried to stay out of, but they look incredible.

And the dinosaurs! It’s incredible. I mean, I don’t have that much time staring at a velociraptor while it’s trying to claw me, but wow, I wouldn’t have imagined their colors and the stripes and the blues and greens. It’s unreal. Not to forget to mention that T-Rex often terrorizes me in different settings. I am stupid terrified of dinosaurs! Lol.

When I actually finish writing and publishing all the other half-finished novels I’ve already started writing that are based on my dreams, everyone can actually see how incredible some of the animals and weird stuff and species and worlds are. It’s insanity! But they make for excellent books!

Take Alcone and the Rhiaddon for example. That was a dream I had about a fourteen year old boy named Alcone (the name was actually his that I heard in the dream) and he was born into a group of people called the Rhiaddon (the only other name I heard in the dream and remembered). The Rhiaddon have this special ability to see the Damned, people who have sinned and are destined for Hell. The Rhiaddon possess a special gate that is guarded by two stone guardians with two giant snakes which all usher the Damned through the gate and into hell every night. Because of an agreement between God and the devil, if a single Damned is missing, then the devil has the authority to come up through the gate and take one of the Rhiaddon as a replacement. It’s actually a very interesting and awesome story about love and life and beliefs. It’s so cool! I need to get to writing!

I feel like I make my dreams out to be pretty awesome, but, I wouldn’t wish my dreams on anyone else. They’re really nightmares in disguise. I used to sleep less than three hours a night when I was a kid because I was afraid to go to sleep. I was afraid to dream. And I would wake up feeling worse off than before I went to bed. It wasn’t until I got much older (and fed up), that I didn’t allow my dreams to stop me from getting a good night’s sleep  no matter how horrific the dream was. And that still stands today. I sleep well, only because I don’t allow the dreams to affect me. But within the dream is a different story. It’s an alternate universe where everything painful hurts just as much as if it’s real.

Since it’s been a while since I’ve kept a dream journal or done anything concerning my dreams, I’m going to start keeping a dream journal. A sort of dream diary experiment. I am still looking forward to changing my dreams. And I am still looking forward to having completely brand new dreams I haven’t dreamed before (since all my dreams are recurring dreams).

Every night, I will aim to try and dream about a certain topic or dream a certain way and see how that comes along.

Tonight, I will try to dream about vampires and see if I can tap into the world of Marisa and the Arromanovokzjas since they don’t exist in my dream world. I’ll try to keep track of date and time and I’ll also try to use lucidity tricks such as flickering lights, bathrooms, going through mirrors, and spinning which will help me with realizing that I am dreaming and also to change the dream. Anyone else who wants to try and dream about Marisa and her brothers and their world, please let me know how well you succeeded in the comments! I’ll be so excited if someone gets there!

Goodnight! ^_^

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 25, 2014 in Diary, Dream Diary

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
